This design is free Standing Lace

How to Pray the Rosary

While holding the crucifix make the Sign of the Cross. and then recite the Apostles Creed.

Recite the Our Father on the first large bead.
Recite a Hail Mary for an increase of faith, hope and charity on each of the three small beads.
Recite the Glory Be to the Father on the next large bead.
Recall the first Rosary Mystery and recite the Our Father on the large bead.
On each of the adjacent ten small beads (also referred to as a decade) recite a Hail Mary while reflecting on the mystery.
Recite the Glory Be to the Father

After each decade, say the Fatima prayer (requested by the Blessed Virgin Mary at Fatima).
Each succeeding decade is prayed in a similar manner by recalling the appropriate Mystery (the Second, Third, Fourth and Fifth), reciting the Our Father, ten Hail Marys, the Glory Be to the Father, and the Fatima prayer while reflecting on the mystery.
When the fifth mystery is completed, the Rosary is Customarily concluded with the Hail Holy Queen, and the Sign of the Cross.

The Mysteries of the Rosary

Monday and Saturday = The Five Joyful Mysteries
I. The Annunciation: Humility.
II. The Visitation: Charity.
III. The Birth of Our Lord: Poverty, or detachment from the world.
IV. The Presentation of Our Lord: Purity of heart, obedience.
V. The Finding of Our Lord in the Temple: Piety.

Tuesday and Fridays = The Five Sorrowful Mysteries
I. The Agony in the Garden: Contrition for our sins.
II. The Scourging at the Pillar: Mortification of our senses.
III. The Crowning with Thorns: Interior mortification.
IV. The Carrying of the Cross: Patience under crosses.
V. The Crucifixion and Death of Our Lord: That we may die to ourselves.

Sundays and Wednesdays = The Five Glorious Mysteries
I. The Resurrection: Conversion of heart.
II. The Ascension: A desire for heaven.
III. The Coming of the Holy Ghost: The Gifts of the Holy Ghost.
IV. The Assumption of our Blessed Mother into Heaven: Devotion to Mary.
V. The Coronation of our Blessed Mother: Eternal happiness.

Thursdays = The Five Luminous Mysteries
I. Baptism of Jesus in the Jordan
II. Wedding Feast of Cana
III. Proclamation of the Kingdom of God
IV. The Transfiguration
V. Institution of the Holy Eucharist

Prayers of the Rosary

The Sign of the Cross:
In the name of the Father of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. Amen

The Apostles' Creed:
I believe in God the Father Almighty, Creator of heaven and earth; and in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord; Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the Virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died and was buried. He decended into hell; the third day He arose again from the dead; He ascended into heaven,and sitteth at the right hand of God, the Father Almighty; from thence He shall come to judge the living and the dead. I believe in the Holy Ghost, the Holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgivness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and life everlasting. Amen

The Our Father
Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name; thy kingdom come: thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread: and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. Amen

The Hail Mary:
Hail Mary, full of grace; the Lord is with thee: blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death. Amen

Glory Be to the Father:
Glory be to the Father, and to the Son and to the Holy Ghost. As it was in the beginning, is now and ever shall be, world without end. Amen.

The Fatima Prayer:
"O my Jesus, forgive us our sins, save us from the fires of hell, and lead all souls to Heaven, especially those in most need of Your Mercy".

The Hail, Holy Queen:
Hail, holy Queen, Mother of Mercy! our life, our sweetness, and our hope! To thee do we cry, poor banished children of Eve; to thee do we send up our sighs, mourning and weeping in this valley, of tears. Turn, then, most gracious Advocate, thine eyes of mercy toward us; and after this our exile show unto us the blessed fruit of thy womb, Jesus; O clement, O loving, O sweet Virgin Mary.



This devotion to the Our Sorrowful Mother was originated in the Thirteenth century. It recalls the Sorrows the Virgin Mother of God endured in compassion for the suffering and death of her Divine Son.

How to pray the Rosary of the Seven Sorrows

An Act of Contrition:

O, my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, behold me before your divine presence, all in confusion at the thought of the many grievous injuries I have done you. I ask pardon for them with my whole heart, repenting of them for love of you, hating them above every other evil and ready to lose my life rather than offend you again. And do you, most tender Virgin, mother of mercy and refuge of sinners, obtain for me the pardon of all my sins by virtue of your bitter pains and help me to so pray as to gain the indulgences attached to this, your most holy Rosary.

Come, Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of your faithful and enkindle in them the fire of you divine love. Send forth you spirit and they shall be created and you shall renew the face of the earth.

Enlighten our minds , we beseech you, O Lord, with the light of your brightness, that we might see what we ought to do and be able to do what is right, through Christ, Our Lord.

Announce the First Sorrow; then say the "Our Father."
Say seven "Hail Marys," while meditating on the Sorrow.
Repeat 1 and 2 continuing through all seven Sorrows.
Three "Hail Marys" are said at the end in honor of the Tears of Our Sorrowful Mother.
Our Father, Hail Mary, and Glory be to the Father, for the intention of the Pope.
Say "Virgin most Sorrowful, pray for us" three times.

Meditate on the following while reciting the prayers

The First Sorrow:
Let us meditate on the first Sorrow of the Blessed Virgin, when she presented her only son in the temple, laid him in the arms of holy Simeon, and heard the prophetic words, "This one shall be a sword of sorrow to pierce your own heart."

The Second Sorrow:
Mary flees into Egypt with Jesus and Joseph- Forced to endure the hardships of a long journey, and becoming a foreigner in a strange land, Mary and her family flee to protect the child Jesus from those who would destroy him.

The Third Sorrow:
Mary seeks Jesus lost in Jerusalem- Jesus disappeared for three days in Jerusalem at the age of twelve, causing his parents, especially Mary, agonizing sorrow.

The Fourth Sorrow:
Mary meets Jesus on the way to Calvary- As Jesus makes his way to Calvary, condemned to crucifixion, He meets His mother, Mary. He is bruised, derided, cursed and defiled and her sorrow is absolute as Jesus drags His own cross up the hill of His crucifixion.

The Fifth Sorrow:
Mary stands near the cross of her Son- Mary stands near her dying Son unable to minister to him as he cries "I thirst". She hears him promise heaven to a thief and forgive his enemies. His last words, "Behold your mother," charge us to look on Mary as our mother.

The Sixth Sorrow:
Mary received the body of Jesus taken down from the cross- The passion and death are over but for his mother, grief continues. She holds His body in her arms.

The Seventh Sorrow:
Mary places the body of Jesus in the tomb, awaiting the resurrection- The most tragic day in history ends, Mary alone in sorrow, as she lays the body of her Son, in the tomb.


Gifts of my designs is a license to use my designs,
and does not allow duplication in any form.
Selling, trading or transferring Skeldale House Designs
to any other party is a violation of copyright ,of title 17 U.S.C., et seq.

1997 © 2008
Skeldale House